»Change in the Making«

Stakeholders from the area of music education from the whole of Europe will meet at the international Symposium on »THE ART OF MUSIC EDUCATION Vol. VIII« in Hamburg from 11 to 13 October 2022. The conference will focus on current challenges for artistic and cultural organisations in the face of climate change, social upheavals and a worldwide pandemic that is still far from being completely overcome.

Experiences from the Corona crisis, together with the ever more urgent issue of sustainability, call into question the intrinsic logic of the concert business that has come into being over the decades. But that’s not all: Coronavirus revealed the vulnerability and lack of adaptability of a system that, for example, plans concerts several years in advance. On the other hand, the new situation has also set free much creativity and unbureaucratic initiatives. What can be preserved from this? What can be changed? How adaptable are we? Where has the enforced waiver of mobility and personal presence brought forth new ideas and ways of working?

How will »Change« succeed, and what role can be played by each of the education department stakeholders whose work brings them particularly close to the public?

The eighth edition of the Conference is devoted to these and other questions. It is a cooperative event between the Hamburg Elbphilharmonie and the Körber-Stiftung in conjunction with the European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO).

Registration is possible on this website from the beginning of April onwards.



News

Load more news >

Programme

11. - 13.10.2022

Players

Becky Hazlewood - remote

Carolin Stüdemann

Chi-chi Nwanoku - remote

Christoph Lieben-Seutter

Eliza-Maïmouna Sarr

Feimatta Conteh

Francine Gorman

Guy Dermosessian

Jasmin Vogel

Karina Svensson

Lothar Dittmer

Nate Holder

Ronni Abergel

Sarah Herke

Soumik Datta

Teemu Kirjonen (tbc)

Tina Heine - remote

Request to participate

The conference fee to participate in the Symposium “THE ART OF MUSIC EDUCATION” is EUR 150, and is payable in the Elbphilharmonie web shop after you have received the confirmation of participation. The admission regulations to the Recital Hall of the Elbphilharmonie are subject to the Hamburg SARS-CoV-2 Containment Ordinance and will be updated on an ongoing basis. The organizer will inform you as soon as possible about the regulations valid in October 2022.

The registrations phase for the sixths edition is over. We kindly ask for your understanding.

Thank you for your wish to participate. Within the next few days you'll get an e-mail from us.

By sending this form, you declare that you agree to the Conditions of Participation and consent to your data being electronically recorded and stored by the Körber-Stiftung and HamburgMusik gGmbH. You can find more information about data processing in the Data Protection Notices.*

*Required field

*Required field

Submit


Journey and Accomodation

Conference venue is the Recital Hall of Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Credits: Maxim Schulz

From the airport: The City-Train

The S1 runs every ten minutes to the central station (Hauptbahnhof). The journey takes 25 minutes.

From the central station: Subway

The yellow U3 line in the direction of Schlump-Barmbek runs every five minutes to Baumwall station. The journey takes six minutes.

Venue

Elbphilharmonie Hamburg
Kleiner Saal
Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4
20457 Hamburg

Conference venue is the Recital Hall of Elbphilharmonie Hamburg.

Accomodation

Rooms in selected hotels in the HafenCity have been reserved at favourable conditions. Single room prices per night including breakfast start at EUR 105 (limited availability).
You will find contact data and reservation keywords for the hotel room allocations in your confirmation of participation.

Previous

Next

Congress language

English and German. There will be simultaneous translation of all German contributions into English. English contributions remain untranslated.


Organizer

Körber-Stiftung

Social development needs dialogue and understanding. Through its operational projects, in its networks and in conjunction with cooperation partners, Körber-Stiftung takes on current social challenges in areas of activities comprising Innovation, International Dialogue and Vibrant Civil Society. At present its work focuses on three topics: Technology needs Society, The Value of Europe and New Life in Exile. Inaugurated in 1959 by the entrepreneur Kurt A. Körber, the foundation is now actively involved in its own national and international projects and events. In particular, the foundation feels a special bond to the city of Hamburg. Furthermore, the foundation holds a site in the capital of Germany, Berlin.

www.koerber-stiftung.de

Elbphilharmonie Hamburg

In the flow of the river Elbe and surrounded on three sides by water, Hamburg’s concert hall, the Elbphilharmonie, is a centre of attraction for all who live in Hamburg as well as for visitors from all over the world. The spectacular building, which celebrated its opening in January 2017, houses two concert halls, a large music education area, a range of places to eat and drink, a hotel and the public Plaza, which offers visitors an unparalleled panoramic view over the whole city. Artistic quality, variety and accessibility shape the musical programme of Hamburg’s cultural landmark.

www.elbphilharmonie.de


Co-operation partners

European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO)

The European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO) is an active network bringing together many of the major concert halls in Europe in order to promote professional exchange, shared reflection and the initiation of joint initiatives. ECHO constitutes a platform for open exchange and for joint thinking on the opportunities, developments and shared challenges central to the lives of concert halls in the 21st century. All of the ECHO halls are producing institutions and demonstrate a high level of artistic integrity presenting a significant level of own productions in the performance series they offer. ECHO leads an EU funded platform for the development of international emerging talent in classical music for the period 2018-2021.

www.concerthallorganisation.eu


Retrospect

News

Programme

Registration

Organizer

Retrospect

Search website

German | English | Imprint


Close

We use so-called cookies on our website in order to be able to constantly improve the content.

I agree

More Info

Change in The Making – warum Wandel unvermeidbar ist und wie er sich gestalten lässt

Vom 11. bis 13. Oktober 2022 trafen sich beim Symposium »THE ART OF MUSIC EDUCATION Vol. VIII« Akteur:innen aus dem Bereich Musikvermittlung in Hamburg. Die achte Ausgabe der internationalen Konferenz von Elbphilharmonie und Körber-stiftung versammelte erneut Gäste aus ganz Europa zu aktuellen Fragen angesichts Pandemie, Energie- und Sicherheitskrise in Europa.

„You can´t avoide Change“ stellte Feimattah Conteh, Environmental Sustainability Manager beim Manchester International Festival, zu Beginn der Tagung fest. Wandel hieße eben auch, dass es kein zurück gäbe in Zustände, in denen man sich bereits auskenne. Gleichzeitig verwies sie mit der Frage „What voices are present in the change“ auch auf die soziale Dimension der allgegenwärtigen Umbrüche. Man könne die Phänomene Klimawandel sowie die Umbrüche in Ökonomie und Gesellschaft nicht voneinander trennen. Dies berge aber auch Chancen. Diesen widmete sich unter anderem das anschließende Panel mit Becky Hazlewood, Manuel Rivera, Soumik Datta im Gespräch mit Karina Svensson.

„I did not become an activist – I was born as an activist”: Mit diesen Worten begann Special Guest Chi-chi Nwanoku ihre Keynote am zweiten Tag des Symposiums. Nwanoku, die das Chineke!-Orchestra gegründet und für besondere Leistungen im Bereich der Musik die Auszeichnung als Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) erhalten hat, zeigte eindrucksvoll an ihrem Lebensweg wie schwierig aber auch wie unverzichtbar die Bekämpfung rassistischer Stereotype bleibt.

Gleichzeitig gab sie damit den Auftakt zu Tag zwei, der sich auf Inklusion, Kollaboration und Empowerment konzentrierte. In den folgenden Panels wurde deutlich, das der Weg zu einem inklusiven und (architektonisch) barrierefreien Konzerthaus noch ein weiter ist.

Tag drei ging der Frage nach, wie Veränderungen in Gang kommen. Jasmin Vogel vom Kulturforum Witten berichtete aus den eigenen praktischen Erfahrungen und riet zugleich, Veränderungen in kleinen Schritten zu denken und bewusst Routinen zu verlassen. Entscheidend seinen dabei, dass auch die Struktur innovationsfördernd werden und die Konsequenzen aushalten müsse. Beispiel: Arbeitsweisen und Haltungen ändern sich nicht durch Anordnungen sondern durch Haltungsänderungen. Dabei werde zu wenig Zeit für den Aushandlungsprozess verwendet, der in einer innovationsfördernden Institution wesentlich ist. Alma Pripp von der Human Library und Carolin Stüdemann vom Startup Viva con Agua gaben weitere Beispiele zu produktiven Veränderungsprozessen.

Sie können einzelne Keynotes auf dieser Website nachhören. Wenn Sie noch nicht in unserem Mailverteiler sind, können Sie sich formlos aufnehmen lassen. Mail an music-education@koerber-stiftung.de genügt.



Aktuelles

Weitere Neuigkeiten laden >

Programm

Donnerstag, 13.10.2022

Mittwoch, 12.10.2022

Dienstag, 11.10.2022

Akteur:innen

Alma Pripp

Andrea Thilo

Anke Fischer

Becky Hazlewood - remote

Carolin Stüdemann

Chi-chi Nwanoku

Christoph Lieben-Seutter

Eliza-Maïmouna Sarr

Feimatta Conteh

Francine Gorman

Guy Dermosessian

Jasmin Vogel

Kai-Michael Hartig

Karina Svensson

Lothar Dittmer

Louwrens Langevoort

Manuel Rivera

Mashanti Alina Hodzode

Nate Holder

Orchester im Treppenhaus: DISCO

Orchester MRIYA

Raphaël Schenkel

Sarah Herke

Soumik Datta

Stephanie Cuff-Schöttle

Tina Heine - remote

Tine Van Goethem

Teilnahmewunsch

Die Konferenzgebühr für die Teilnahme am Symposium „THE ART OF MUSIC EDUCATION“ beträgt 150 Euro und ist nach Erhalt der Teilnahmebestätigung im Webshop der Elbphilharmonie zu entrichten. Die Zutrittsbestimmungen zum Kleinen Saal der Elbphilharmonie unterliegen der Hamburgischen SARS-CoV-2 Eindämmungsverordnung und werden laufend aktualisiert. Der Veranstalter informiert Sie sobald wie möglich über die im Oktober 2022 gültigen Bestimmungen.

Die Registrierung ist abgeschlossen. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht mehr möglich. Wir bitten um Verständnis.

Danke für ihren Teilnahmewunsch. In den nächsten Tagen melden wir uns bei Ihnen per E-Mail zurück.

Mit dem Versenden dieses Formulars erklären Sie sich mit den Teilnahmebedingungen sowie damit einverstanden, dass Ihre Daten von der Körber-Stiftung und der HamburgMusik gGmbH elektronisch erfasst und gespeichert werden. Nähere Informationen zur Datenverarbeitung finden Sie in den Datenschutzhinweisen.*

*Pflichtangabe

*Pflichtangabe

Absenden


Anreise und Übernachtung

Veranstaltungsort ist der Kleine Saal der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Credits: Maxim Schulz

Vom Flughafen: S-Bahn

Die S1 fährt im Zehn-Minuten-Takt zum Hauptbahnhof. Die Fahrt dauert 25 Minuten.

Vom Hauptbahnhof: U-Bahn

Die gelbe Linie U3 in Richtung Schlump-Barmbek fährt im Fünf-Minuten-Takt bis zur Station Baumwall. Die Fahrt dauert sechs Minuten.

Tagungsort

Elbphilharmonie Hamburg
Kleiner Saal
Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4
20457 Hamburg

Veranstaltungsort ist der Kleine Saal der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg.

Übernachtung

In ausgewählten Hotels in der HafenCity wurden Zimmer zu vergünstigten Konditionen reserviert. Die Preise pro Nacht für ein EZ inklusive Frühstück beginnen bei 105 € (begrenzte Verfügbarkeit).
Die Kontaktdaten und Reservierungsstichworte zu den Hotelkontingenten erfahren Sie in Ihrer Teilnahmebestätigung.

Vorheriges

Nächstes

Kongresssprache

Englisch und Deutsch. Es wird eine Simultanübersetzung aller deutschen Beiträge ins Englische angeboten. Englische Beiträge bleiben unübersetzt.


Veranstalter

Körber-Stiftung

Gesellschaftliche Entwicklung braucht Dialog und Verständigung. Die Körber-Stiftung stellt sich mit ihren operativen Projekten, in ihren Netzwerken und mit Kooperationspartner:innen aktuellen Herausforderungen in den Handlungsfeldern »Innovation«, »Internationale Verständigung« und »Lebendige Bürgergesellschaft«. Die drei Themen »Technik braucht Gesellschaft«, »Der Wert Europas« und »Neues Leben im Exil« stehen derzeit im Fokus ihrer Arbeit. 1959 von dem Unternehmer Kurt A. Körber ins Leben gerufen, ist die Stiftung heute mit eigenen Projekten und Veranstaltungen national und international aktiv. Ihrem Heimatsitz Hamburg fühlt sie sich dabei besonders verbunden; außerdem unterhält sie einen Standort in Berlin.

www.koerber-stiftung.de

Elbphilharmonie Hamburg

Im Januar 2017 wurde die Elbphilharmonie Hamburg feierlich eröffnet. Im Strom der Elbe, an drei Seiten von Wasser umgeben, ist das Konzerthaus ein Anziehungspunkt für alle Hamburger und Gäste aus der ganzen Welt. Das spektakuläre Gebäude vereint zwei Konzertsäle, einen großen Musikvermittlungsbereich, Gastronomie, ein Hotel und die öffentliche Plaza, die Besuchern einen einmaligen Panoramablick über die gesamte Stadt bietet. Künstlerische Qualität, Vielfalt und Zugänglichkeit prägen das musikalische Programm von Hamburgs neuem kulturellen Wahrzeichen.

www.elbphilharmonie.de


Kooperationspartner

European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO)

Die European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO) ist ein aktives Netzwerk, welche viele der bedeutendsten Konzerthäuser Europas zusammenbringt, damit sich diese auf professioneller Ebene austauschen, gemeinsam reflektieren und neue Initiativen ins Leben rufen können.

www.concerthallorganisation.eu


Rückblick

Aktuelles

Programm

Teilnahmewunsch

Veranstalter

Rückblick

Seite durchsuchen

Deutsch | English | Impressum


Schließen

Wir verwenden auf unserer Website sogenannte Cookies, um die Inhalte stetig verbessern zu können.

Einverstanden

Mehr Infos